I am officially back online and living in Louisville, KY.  However my returning post features one of the fine gems I captured only days before beginning the journey back east.  Outside of my local liquor store I happened upon this Independent Fabrications SSR: full Dura Ace gruppo, Dura Ace Wheelset, Ritchey WCS seatpost, stem, and hand  holders. It is safe to say that for a commuter bike, this might be a bit overkill. There is no denying that we are looking at both a $9,000 bike – and assuming he rightfully spent 20% of the bike’s value on a lock – an impressive $1800 u-lock…

The funny thing is, this is the second time I have seen this bike locked only to itself. And both locations were within 1 block of each other. Statistically speaking, if you wanted to steal this bike it is a definitely possibility.  This time around I actually had the chance to speak with the owner, who may or may not know that for the price of his “earth friendly transportation” he could possibly just buy a Prius and save himself the trouble of looking like a that-guy.

